July 25, 2017

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored
Where customers are friends!

History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Sports calendar
Sports links
Advertising Opportunities
Link Directory
About Us
Contact us

home : local sports : local sports

10/1/2012 10:42:00 AM Email this articlePrint this article 
Both Lawrenceville teams run third at 'Crossroads'
EFFINGHAM - Lawrenceville High School's cross country teams both registered third-place finishes Saturday in the Eastern Crossroads Conference meet.

LHS girls Meredith Spitz, Katie Liberman and Andie Scherer - all seniors at Red Hill High School - earned all-conference honors as did Connor Holmes for the boys team. Girls and boys who placed in the top 10 were accorded all-conference honors.

Traditionally, the meet has been held for teams who were in conferences that did not schedule conference meets. Although the Little Illini Conference will hold a meet Oct. 9 at Newton, the Indians and Cumberland were both participants on Saturday.

Girls meet

Effingham St. Anthony (49) and Teutopolis (68) both finished ahead of the Indians, who totaled 71 points. Neoga (89), Cumberland (98) and Altamont (117) completed the field, as Dieterich did not have enough runners to qualify in the team standings.

Cumberland's Leah Hutchison covered the 3.1-mile course in 20:16 to win the race. Spitz (21:36) ran sixth for LHS, while Liberman was seventh in 21:38 and Scherer ninth in 21:40. Hannah Burkhardt (24th in 23:51) and Heather Hill (25th in 23:53) rounded out the Indians' contingent.

Effingham St. Anthony teammates Carson Fonner (20:45), Sarah Wortman (21:02) and Emmie Schultz (21:04) held down the second through fourth spots. Megan Weichman of Teutopolis comleted the top five with a time of 21:35.

Two other LHS runners, Macey Paddick and Chelsea Shoulders, were listed as "did not finish" in the official meet fesults.

Boys meet

Neoga and Effingham St. Anthony both scored 43 points, but Neoga was awarded the championship due to the sixth-man rule. Lawrenceville was third with 85 points, ahead of Teutopolis (88), Altamont (137), Cumberland (148) and Dieterich (171).

Altamont's Andrew Spears won the race in 16:16. Holmes paced the Indians by placing eighth in 17:27. Zach Kocher (11th in 17:43), Tristan Davis (17th in 18:29), Dylan Volkman (19th in 18:40) and Harry Loeb (33rd in 19:38) rounded out the LHS scoring.

Also running for the Indians were Logan Lopez (36th in 19:52), Wyatt Whewell (41st in 20:23), Tyler Tewell (46th in 20:44), Slayton Dorney (50th in 21:19), Jag Rich (62nd in 22:33) and Evan Briner (70th in 23:53).

St. Anthony teammates Peter Keller (16:29) and Andrew Gardewine (16:46) ran second and third. Cumberland's Tye Sutherland (17:05) placed fourth, while Neoga's Trevor Walk rounded out the top five in 17:12.

The Indians are slated to run Thursday at the Fairfield Invitational.


Girls meet

Team standings

1. Effingham St. Anthony 49; 2. Teutopolis 66; 3. Lawrenceville 71; 4. Neoga 87; 5. Cumberland 98; 6. Altamont 117; 7. Dieterich - no team score.

Individual Top 10

1. Leah Hutchison, Cumberland, 20:18; 2. Carson Fonner, Effingham St. Anthony, 20:45; 3. Sarah Wortman, Effingham St. Anthony, 21:02; 4. Emmie Schultz, Effingham St. Anthony, 21:04; 5. Megan Weichman, Teutopolis, 21:35; 6. Meredith Spitz, Lawrenceville, 21:35; 7. Katie Liberman, Lawrenceville, 21:38; 8. Laura Aolf, Altamont, 21:39; 9. Andie Scherer, Lawrenceville, 21:39; 10. Brittany Deters, Neoga, 21:40.

Other LHS finishers

24. Hannah Burkhardt, 23:51; 25. Heather Hill, 23:53.

Boys meet

Team standings

1 Effingham St. Anthony, 43; 2. Neoga 43; 3. Lawrenceville 85; 4. Teutopolis 88; 5. Altamont 137; 6. Cumberland 148; 7. Dieterich 171.

Individual Top 10

1. Andrew Sharp, Altamont, 16:16; 2. Peter Keller, Effingham St. Anthony, 216:20; 3. Andrew Gardewine, Effingham St. Anthony, 16:46; 4. Tye Sutherland, Cumberland, 17:05; 5. Trevor Walk, Neoga, 17:12; 6. Ryan Evans, Neoga, 17:24; 8. Connor Holmes, Lawrenceville, 17:27; 9. Austin Hernandez, Neoga, 17:38; 10. Jake Spraul, Effingham St. Anthony, 17:39.

Other LHS finishers

17. Tristan Davis, 18:29; 19. Dylan Volkman, 18:40; 33. Harry Loeb, 19:38; 36. Logan Lopez, 19:52; 46. Tyler Tewell, 20:44; 50. Slayton Dorney, 21:19; 62. Jag Rich, 22:33; 70. Evan Briner, 23:53.


 Kid Safe Search

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved