June 27, 2019

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored
Where customers are friends!

History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Advertising Opportunities
Link Directory
About Us
Contact us

home : local news : local news

 Email this articlePrint this article 
Election set for Tuesday in county
LAWRENCEVILLE - There is a consolidated election in Lawrence County on Tuesday, but it's generated very little interest.

None of Lawrence County's mayors are up for re-election for two years, and there are very few contested races for any of the other positions.

As always, polls will open at 6 a.m., and close at 7 p.m. at the 24 Lawrence County precincts.

Contested races likely to generate the most public interest are two for seats on the Bridgeport City Council, and two for seats on the Community District 20 school board.

According to Lawrence County clerk Will Gibson, during a similar consolidated election in 2015, only about 10 percent of Lawrence County's voters turned out.

There are a couple of seats on the Bridgeport City Council that will be contested.

In a race in Ward 3, incumbent Chris Seitzinger is being challenged by Billie Ralston. Also, in Ward 2, Tonya Collins and Charles Lemeron are on the ballot for a spot. They are running for the seat currently occupied by Jason Thacker, who is not running again.

Also in Bridgeport, Hal Pargin is on the ballot for a spot in Ward 1, without opposition.

Other Bridgeport City Council members won't be up for reelection until 2021.

For the Lawrenceville City Council, Dwayne Volkman in Ward 2, Jep Blacketer in Ward 3 and Edgar L. Burnett in Ward 4, all face no opposition. Burnett will take the place of Ann Howder, who is moving and will give up her seat.

The St. Francisville City Council will also have a new look after the election.

In Ward 1, former Mayor John Guite has chosen not to seek reelection. His spot will be claimed by Roderick "Rod" Padgett, who faces no opposition. In Ward 2, Francis "Speed" Moody has chosen not to run again. His spot will be claimed by either Brittany Hall or Gregory Shearer. The situation is the same in Ward 3, where Wayne Kohlhouse did not choose to run again. Gabe T. Padgett and William A. Cogdill are vying for that seat.

Two races for a seat on the CUSD 20 Board of Education will take place.

In District 4, incumbent T.J. Pargin is facing a challenge from former teacher Francie Scott.

Additionally, the only name on the ballot in District 1 is that of Kyle Gray. However, he's facing a challenge from Emma Engel, a Bond Township resident, who is a write-in candidate.

Gray and Engel are seeking to take the place of board member Steve Kocher, who is not attempting to retain his seat.


 Kid Safe Search

Software © 1998-2019 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved